Augusta Students Compete for College Scholarships


AUGUSTA, Maine (June 7, 2010) – Augusta students at the four elementary schools recently gathered for a scholarship award ceremony during which the winners of an essay contest were announced and commended.


cPort Credit Union has brought this successful program to fifth and sixth grade students in the Augusta school district which encourages students to actively think about higher education. Students are asked to write an essay about what they are interested in now and how that might carry into future college studies. Twenty, $100 college scholarships were given out district-wide.

“This program has been successful for three years in Portland at the Riverton Elementary school and we were ecstatic to be able to expand it to the entire Augusta district. We firmly believe in funding educational programs such as this, and also giving students an opportunity to think about their futures and how they can reach the goals they set out for themselves,” said cPort CEO Gene Ardito.

Employees from cPort’s Augusta branch read every essay and determined winners; students receive marks for effort, overall message and recommendation letters. Student essays focused on careers ranging from fashion designers to veterinarians and teachers, and varied college choices from local institutions as well as those in states as far away as California. Over 150 students from the four schools participated and winning essays ranged from a professional hockey player to an architect.


cPort Credit Union in partnership with Bob Stuart, President of Yarmouth Educational Consultants, provides workshops to the students on career choices and college selection research to best achieve those career aspirations. Teachers assist the students with their research and essay preparation.


When asked about the program’s impact and importance, Hussey School Principal Michelle Michaud said, “The program was a catalyst to inspire our students to develop educational and life goals. The workshop presented the students with information about college and career training that will assist them as they continue through school. The scholarship essay contest motivated our students to think about their future and make a plan that would help them get to their career goal. These students are starting early and headed for great success.”


The program has also piqued the interest of Augusta School Board members, as cPort, the students, teachers and principals have been invited to the June board meeting to present the program.


The complete list of winners is as follows:
Hussey School: Megan Ringrose, Sierra Kanaris
Gilbert School: McKenzie Coulombe, Tabitha Stephenson, Patrick Greene, Andrew Levesque, Diana Belanger
Lincoln School: Eric Sullivan, Jonas Long, Maria Gregor, Sydney Cheever, Camille Grover, Paige Berube, Anthony Brunelle, Kelsey Tran
Farrington School: Sydney Lorgeree, Elijah Tobey, Samantha Buck, Palak Patel, Haley Stevens

You are about to leave cPort CU's site