Skip to content

About cPort Credit Union

cPort Credit Union was founded in 1931 as the Federal Employees Credit Union of Maine. At the time, we were only the third credit union in the state of Maine. Shortly after our original founding, we changed our name to Government Employees Credit Union of Maine, in order to better reflect our charter and membership requirements.

What started as an organization run out of our first manager's desk drawer grew to occupy the post office building at 125 Forest Avenue in Portland. Our headquarters moved to 555 Forest Avenue in 1986, and ten years later moved to our current location at 50 Riverside Industrial Parkway. cPort has five branches located in Portland, Augusta, and Scarborough.

Previously, our membership consisted of government employees, such as postal workers and military personnel. In 2005, we changed our name to cPort Credit Union, again to better reflect the recent change in our charter, which now allows us to offer membership to anyone who lives or works in one of five counties: Cumberland, Kennebec, Androscoggin, Sagadahoc and York.

At cPort, we strive to deliver the best possible financial experience to our members. We connect with you, our members, through a high level of personalized service, through convenient banking technology, and we connect with our communities, giving back to the areas that we serve.

Search for specific products, services, articles, topics, etc.